Home Resources Business Wire Pricing (2026): What a Press Release Actually...
Resources

Business Wire Pricing (2026): What a Press Release Actually Costs

PR
PR Gun Editorial Team
Aug 20, 2026 5 min read
Business Wire Pricing (2026): What a Press Release Actually Costs

Business Wire publishes exactly one price — $475 for a 400-word release on U.S. domestic local distribution. National circuit pricing, word-count overages and multimedia fees are all quote-only: Business Wire does not publish them anywhere. This guide breaks down every line item, shows what a typical release actually costs, and compares it against the market.

Numbers to keep in mind while budgeting: PR Gun's analysis of 129,742 published press releases found the median release runs 613 to 879 words — not the 400 words legacy wire base prices assume. Per-word overage fees are where these invoices really grow.

Business Wire Price List (2026)

Line itemPriceStatus
U.S. domestic local distribution (400 words)$475Published by Business Wire
National U.S. circuitNot publishedQuote only
Each additional 100 wordsNot publishedQuote only
Multimedia attachment (image/video)Not publishedQuote only
Full-colour linked logoIncludedPublished (listed in “Every Release Includes”)
Annual membershipNot statedNo membership fee stated on the public pricing page

Price verified 18 September 2026 against Business Wire’s own pricing page: secure.businesswire.com/pricing. Business Wire publishes exactly one price — $475 for 400 words on U.S. domestic local distribution. Every other figure requires a sales conversation. We previously published national and per-word figures sourced from third-party estimates; we have removed them rather than present unverified numbers as a rate card.

Prices verified August 2026 by the PR Gun research desk. Primary source: businesswire.com.

What a Typical Release Really Costs

Base prices assume a 400-word release. Real releases are longer: across 129,742 published press releases analyzed by PR Gun, the median length is 613 to 879 words. Here is the honest math for a national Business Wire release:

Business Wire’s published entry price covers 400 words. PR Gun’s analysis of 129,742 published press releases found the median release actually runs 613–879 words — so a typical announcement exceeds the base allowance before any images are added. Business Wire does not publish what the excess costs, which is the point: the number you can look up is not the number you will pay, and you cannot find out without asking. The public local-distribution price does not establish the cost of a national or multimedia release. Request a written quote specifying circuit, word count, multimedia, geography, and all additional fees.

Business Wire vs the Market

ServicePublished entry pricePer extra 100 wordsMembership
Business Wire$475 (400 words, U.S. local)Not publishedNone
PR NewswireNot publishedNot publishedNot published
EIN PresswireFrom $149 flatNoneNone
PR Gun$49–$199 flatNoneNone

Flat-priced services avoid the overage model entirely: with PR Gun a median-length release costs the same $49–$199 as a short one, writing is included free (most services charge $200–$400 for writing), and photos and videos are free. See the full 15-service pricing guide for the whole market.

When Business Wire Is Worth It — and When It Isn't

Worth it: public-company disclosure (earnings, M&A, governance), enterprises that need broker terminals, global circuits, and compliance-grade distribution. Business Wire's network credibility in those scenarios is real — our full Business Wire review covers it in depth.

Not worth it: product launches, funding announcements, SEO visibility, and small-business news. For those, budget wires syndicate to Google News, AP News, and hundreds of affiliates from $49 — the reach that matters for marketing, at 5–10% of the cost. Compare options in Business Wire alternatives and best press release distribution services.

Frequently Asked Questions About Business Wire Pricing

How much does a Business Wire press release cost?

Business Wire publishes one price: $475 for a 400-word release on U.S. domestic local distribution. National circuit pricing, word-count overage rates and multimedia fees are not published and require a quote. The public local-distribution price does not establish the cost of a national or multimedia release. Request a written quote specifying circuit, word count, multimedia, geography and all additional fees.

Does Business Wire charge a membership fee?

Business Wire does not state a membership fee on its public pricing page. Confirm all fees in a written quote.

What does Business Wire’s published price actually cover?

The base price covers only 400 words. PR Gun's analysis of 129,742 published press releases found the median release actually runs 613 to 879 words, which means a typical release exceeds Business Wire's published 400-word allowance before any images are added. What that excess costs is not published.

Is Business Wire worth the price?

For public companies with regulatory disclosure requirements and enterprises that need broker terminals and global circuits, often yes. For marketing visibility, startups, and small businesses, budget wires deliver Google News and AP News syndication from $49 — see our Business Wire alternatives guide.

What is the cheapest alternative to Business Wire?

PR Gun starts at $49 per release ($49–$199, bulk discounts up to 40%) and includes free press release writing and free photos/videos — items Business Wire charges separately for, at rates it does not publish. Other lower-cost options include IssueWire (from $21) and EIN Presswire (from $149).

Ready to distribute your press release?

Get your news in front of thousands of journalists with PR Gun's distribution network.

View Pricing →